I Love Student Radio Award winners announced for 2020

The winners of this year’s I Love Student Radio Awards have been announced via a live event on Facebook following the cancellation of the Student Radio Conference because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The awards, supported by Communicorp UK, were announced by Capital South Wales presenters Josh and Kally last weekend and viewers were treated to musical performances from singer-songwriter Maisie Peters.

The I Love Student Radio Award nominees are put forward for the honours by their peers, with a judging panel making the awards.

They aim to celebrate the commitment and contributions of individuals to student radio, recognising those whose time, effort and creativity behind the scenes, and whose commitment to student radio is unprecedented.

Here’s the full list of winners:
Outstanding Contribution to a Student Radio Station – Danny Humby from Radio Sonar.
Best Training Initiative – Demon FM’s Training Fullhurst College’s Teacher Team.
Most Improved Student Radio Station – Radio Sonar.
Best Audience Initiative – Burn FM’s Open Day OB’s.
Best Outreach Project – Fly Through the Night by Fly FM.
Most Committed Committee Member – Edward Norton from Shock Radio.
Student Radio Team of the Year – RAW 1251AM’s Black History Takeover Producers.
Hero of the Moment – James Penny from Livewire 1350.
Best Station Culture – Radio Sonar.
Collaboration of the Year – The URF Guest Slot by University Radio Falmer
Most Supportive University or Students Union – URY and The Sabbatical Officers, Events, and Opportunities Teams at YUSU.
The Spirit of Student Radio Award – Kai Valentine from Spark.
Student Radio Moment of the Year – Wavelength World Music Festival by University Radio Falmer.
Region of the Year – Yorkshire (Alex West, Yorkshire Regional Officer).

You can watch the awards stream back here: