Sheppey FM wins Station of the Year at the Community Radio Awards 2023

Sheppey FM 92.2 on the Isle of Sheppey has been named as Station of the Year at the 2023 Community Radio Awards event.

Hosted by last year’s male and female presenter of the year winners, Rupa Mooker from Awaz FM and Stephen Higgs from Switch Radio, the evening celebrated the hard work of recipients from up and down the country.

Martin Steers, awards chair, said: “We’ve been running the awards now for eight years, and as ever the standard is immense, and our judges have a really tricky job”.

“It was great to hold the event further north than ever before, and really appreciate that so many made the journey.”

In his remarks before presenting the Male Presenter award, Stephen Higgs said: “We’re all here to create things that never existed before. Not just presenters, but social media producers, techies, engineers and volunteers. We’re here to entertain and inform people, and if these awards push us a little bit harder, if it makes us set a slightly higher standard, that is why it matters.”

“We’re part of a creative community that strives for excellence – whether it be an outside broadcast from a remembrance day, or commentating on live local sports. To just be a speck in that landscape has been an honour.”

Recipient of the Honours award was David McGealy, from Oldham Community Radio, who sadly passed away two weeks ago. David was a pioneer and champion of both the hospital and community radio sectors since the 1970s.

The awards followed the UK Community Radio Network Annual Conference, which took place in the same venue earlier in the day.

Expressions of interest to host the 2024 Community Radio Awards next October alongside the UKCRN Conference will open later this month, and entries for the awards open again next Spring.

And the winners are:

Special Category: HM Queen Elizabeth II – Her life, Her reign, and her passing

Gold Northampton remembers and celebrates HM Queen Elizabeth II – NLive Radio

Silver The Queen In Birmingham – Switch Radio

Bronze Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II Has Died – Cambridge 105 Radio


Special Category: Coronation of King Charles III

Gold Coronation of the King – BFBS Aldershot

Silver The Coronation Ceilidh Special Broadcast – Radio Skye

Bronze The Day the King Came – Bolton FM


Newcomer of the Year

Gold Ian Campfield – Gateway 97.8

Silver Jenny Jefferies – Black Cat Radio

Bronze Phil Norris – Vectis Radio


Sage Person of the Year (Over 60)

Gold Sam Hinks – Radio Skye

Silver Paul James – Academy FM Thanet

Bronze Norman Ross – Quality Radio


Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Sponsored by The Radio Hub

Gold Josh Holmes-Bright – Caroline Community Radio

Silver Daisy Barker – Chelmsford Community Radio

Bronze Dafydd Furnham – Bro Radio


Volunteer of the Year

Gold Maggie Currie – Vectis Radio

Silver Steven Weighill – Sheppey FM 92.2

Bronze Brian Dobson – Black Cat Radio


Sports Show of the Year

Gold Saturday Sports Show: Non-League Day Special – Black Country Radio

Silver Varsity 2023: Bedfordshire vs Northampton – Radio LaB 97.1FM

Bronze The Local Sports Mix – Mix 92.6


Arts & Creative Radio of the Year

Gold Frankenstein the Pantomime – Chelmsford Community Radio

Silver The Art of Listening – Resonance FM

Bronze The Space Folk Horror Lounge Mummer’s Play – Frome FM


News, Journalism & Factual Storytelling of the Year

Gold The Host – Ukraine 1 Year On – Hope FM

Silver Trinity Theatre Seniors – West Kent Radio

Bronze Forced Out – BFBS Aldershot


Specialist Content Show of the Year

Gold A Space to Speak Your Mind – SourceFM

Silver Your Voice – Black Cat Radio

Bronze The Parents’ Show – Mix 92.6


Specialist Music Show of the Year

Gold Baker’s Dozen Radio Show  – Ipswich Community Radio

Silver Friday Night Trad – Radio Skye

Bronze Currently Country – K107fm


Entertainment Show of the Year

Gold Gemma-Leigh James – BFBS Brize Norton

Silver Glenn Jones – Cambridge 105 Radio

Bronze Tom & Matty’s Monthly Montage – Maritime Radio


Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

Gold Carols for Christmas – SourceFM

Silver Varsity 2023: Bedfordshire vs Northampton – Radio LaB 97.1FM

Bronze Mix 92.6 at The National League Play Off Final – Mix 92.6


Female Presenter of the Year

Sponsored by AutoPod

Gold Priya Matharu – Switch Radio

Silver Dr Audrey Tang – NLive Radio

Bronze Gemma-Leigh James – BFBS Brize Norton


Male Presenter of the Year

Sponsored by Hippynet

Gold Ste Greenall – Black Cat Radio

Silver Patrick Foster – Academy FM Thanet

Bronze Neil Kefford – Academy FM Thanet


Community Show of the Year

Gold Sophie Preece – Switch Radio

Silver The Erskine Veterans Radio Show – Quality Radio

Bronze A Space to Speak Your Mind – SourceFM


Community Impact Project of the Year

Sponsored by UK Community Radio Network

Gold Rehabilitation into Education – Sheppey FM 92.2

Silver The 4Ps Radio Training School for Young People – Vectis Radio

Bronze Food For Thought – The Voice FM


Station of the Year

Sponsored by Aiir

Gold Sheppey FM 92.2

Silver Vectis Radio

Bronze Ujima Radio