Shortlist out for the 50th Broadcasting Press Guild Audio Awards

Audio nominations for the 50th Broadcasting Press Guild Audio Awards have been announced.

The shortlist includes Ken Bruce, James O’Brien, Matt Chorley, Cerys Matthews, India Rakusen and John Stewart.

The chair of the BPG audio jury, journalist Simon O’Hagan, said this year’s judging committee produced amazingly talented lists in all three categories: “The quality and range of British audio presenters, radio programmes and podcasts just keeps on improving year-on-year and any one of our nominees would have made a worthy winner – the final votes by the judges was that close.”

The 50th annual BPG Awards lunch is an invitation-only event to be held at The Royal Horseguards Hotel at 2 Whitehall Court in Whitehall, London, on Thursday 21st March 2024.

The full list of Audio Nominations for the 50 th BPG Awards looks like this:

Radio Programme Of The Year
James O’Brien (LBC)
Matt Chorley (Times Radio)
The Briefing Room (BBC Radio 4 and BBC Sounds)
The Great Post Office Trial (BBC Radio 4 and BBC Sounds)

Audio Presenter Of The Year     
Ken Bruce (Greatest Hits Radio)
Cerys Matthews (BBC Radio 6 Music)
India Rakusen (BBC Radio 4)
Rory Stewart (Goalhanger Podcasts)
John Wilson (BBC Radio 4)
Podcast Of The Year
The Rest Is…Entertainment (Goalhanger Podcasts)
Movers and Shakers (Podot)             
Empire (Goalhanger Podcasts)
I’m Not A Monster Series 2: The Shamima Begum Story (BBC Sounds)