Ofcom advertises Round Six of the small-scale DAB licences

Applications are now welcome with Ofcom for Round Six of the small-scale DAB digital radio licensing process.

There are 27 areas on the list, and four other areas (Swansea, Warminster, Wigan and and an amended Wetherby) will also be re-advertised after multiplexes failed to materialise in those areas.

The closing date is 5pm on Thursday 18th July 2024.

Ofcom is also now inviting applications from potential programme service providers who would like to broadcast a Community Digital Sound Programme (C-DSP) service on a smallscale radio multiplex service for which a licence is being advertised in this document.

You can see details of all the areas and the expected coverage maps here.

Ofcom is currently looking at the applications for Round 5 and the awards are expected anytime soon.

The new areas are:

• Ayr, Troon and Irvine

• Barrow-in-Furness

• Bournemouth and Boscombe

• Bridgend

• Carlisle and Penrith

• Catterick, Rippon and Thirsk

• Corby and Kettering

• Cumbernauld and Coatbridge

• East Devon

• Erewash

• Halifax

• Huddersfield

• Huntingdon

• Isle of Wight

• Lanarkshire

• Larne, Carrickfergus and Newtown Abbey

• North Ayrshire

• Nuneaton and Hinckley

• Paisley and West Glasgow

• Poole, Purbeck and Wimbourne

• Portadown and Craigavon

• South Craven, Wharfedale and Worth Valley

• Sunderland

• Walsall

• Weymouth, Dorchester and Bridport

• Workington and Whitehaven

• Yeovil