Winners announced at the 2019 Community Radio Awards

All the winners for the 2019 Community Radio Awards have been announced at an event in Barry, South Wales.

More than 50 projects have been recognised in front of an audience of 150 volunteers and staff from a range of stations.

The event was hosted by last year’s Female and Male gold recipients Julie Donaldson and Mark Jarvis, and took place after the Community Radio Now & Next Conference which was held in the same place.

Martin Steers, awards chair, said: “In just four years, the Community Radio Awards have become a firm fixture in the calendar of stations up and down the country.

“We’ve enjoyed visiting Wales, and it’s great to see even more fantastic content from so many stations. Our judging process is independent and thorough, with several judges listening to each entry, and their feedback on the work undertaken in communities never ceases to amaze.

“Radio continues to play a strong community role, and it’s a privilege to showcase it.”

Full Winners:

Podcast of the Year

Gold                Rich Seams – New Writing North

Silver               ArtsWatch – Riverside Radio

Bronze             Speak Up Sunderland – Solo Arts CIC

Innovation of the Year

Gold                Pride Community Network – Pride Radio

Silver               Not so much a website, more a community hub – Radio Verulam

Bronze             The Local Radio Marketing Group – Wycombe Sound

Newcomer of the Year (new to radio in last 12 months)

Gold                Jenna Myles – FromeFM

Silver               Sam Sethi – Marlow FM

Bronze             Lewis Allsopp – Erewash Sound

Sage Person (Over 60)

Gold                Geoff Selby – Bro Radio

Silver               Kelvin Currie – Vectis Radio

Bronze             Sue Rodwell Smith – HCR FM

Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Gold                Emma Snow – Erewash Sound

Silver               Kane McMahon – Bro Radio

Bronze             Haashim Siddique – Asian Star Radio

Volunteer of the Year

Gold                Kate Gregory – Speysound Radio

Silver               Chas Large – Red Kite Radio

Bronze             Luke Davis – Wycombe Sound 106.6fm

Sports Show of the Year

Gold                MônFM Sport – MônFM

Silver               Verulam Sports – Radio Verulam

Bronze             The Terrace Radio Show – Radio Cardiff

Specialist Music Show of the Year

Gold                The Roots Collective – Wycombe Sound

Silver               It’s Showtime with Ryan & Jodana – Bro Radio

Bronze             Alex Krupa’s Country Show – Andover Radio

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year

Gold                Maritime Radio Launch: A Love Song to Greenwich & Woolwich – Maritime Radio

Silver               Where I Was Born, Where I Was Raised – Spark Sunderland

Bronze             “The UK’s most creative independent radio station” – Resonance FM

Speech & Journalism of the Year

Gold                Autism & It’s Possibilities – Radio LaB 97.1FM

Silver               Talking Men – The Alex Skeel Interview – Cambridge 105 Radio

Bronze             Second Chance: Disclosing Your Past – Swindon 105.5

Entertainment Show of the Year

Gold                Desi Beats Show with Desi Diva Deepa – Asian Star Radio

Silver               Robbie James – Express FM

Bronze             The Dylan Taylor Breakfast Show – 107 Endeavour FM

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

Gold                Source FM Christmas Party 2018 – Source FM

Silver               Source FM’s Parklive – Source FM

Bronze             Start of the Great North Run 2018 – Radio Tyneside

Female Presenter of the Year

Gold                Jo Thoenes – BFBS Brize Norton

Silver               Gemma-Leigh James – Marlow FM

Bronze             Fiona McNeill – Dunoon Community Radio

Male Presenter of the Year

Gold                Sam Day – Future Radio

Silver               Rob L’Esperance – Wycombe Sound 106.6fm

Bronze             Chris Kaye – BFBS Catterick

Community Show of the Year

Gold                Julie Donaldson’s Morning Mix – Zetland FM

Silver               The Health and Wellbeing Hour – Heartland FM

Bronze             The Vale This Week – Bro Radio

Community Development Project of the Year

Gold                Chapel St Primary School takes over – ALL FM

Silver               Cash 4 Calendars Campaign – Spark Sunderland

Bronze             The 4Ps Project – Vectis Radio

Digital or RSL Station Of The Year

Gold                Radio Wanno

Silver               Ocean Youth Radio

Bronze             Thre3-6ix Radio & Scout Radio

Station of the Year

Gold                ALL FM

Silver               Wycombe Sound

Bronze             Spark Sunderland