Nominations out for Hospital Radio Awards 2020

The shortlist for the National Hospital Radio Awards 2020 has been revealed.

The winners will be announced at a gala night in Bolton in March at what will be the 50th anniversary of the Hospital Broadcasting Association.

HBA Patron Alan Dedicoat read out the winners via the association’s website on New Year’s Day.

Here’s the full list:

Best Station Promotion

Hospital Radio Basingstoke – David Blower and Steve Fox

Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Good Times with Showaddywaddy

Hospital Radio Plymouth – The New Jolley Good Breakfast

Radio Glamorgan – Music Was My First Love

Radio Heartbeat – Radio Heartbeat Weekend Breakfast

Radio Hillingdon – How to listen to Radio Hillingdon

Radio Wey – The Young Wey

Southend Hospital Radio – Focus

Stoke Mandeville Hospital Radio – Join SMHR

Whipps Cross Hospital Radio – Whipps Cross Hospital Radio 50

Best Special Event

The Hospital Broadcasting Service – Hospital-to-Hospital Sponsored Walk

Hospital Radio Plymouth – 50th Anniversary Weekend

Nottingham Hospitals Radio – The Last Day

Radio Heartbeat – Radio Heartbeat 40th Anniversary Show

Radio Hillingdon – Brunel University Volunteers Fayre

Radio Wey – St. Peter’s Open Day Coverage

Radio Cavell – Royal Oldham Hospital Summer BBQ for staff and local partners

Rookwood Sound – The International Tortoise Sanctuary

Southend Hospital Radio – MacMillan Coffee Evening

Whipps Cross Hospital Radio – Whipps Cross 50 Years

Best Speech Package

BHBN – World Transplant Games Baton Handover

Durham Hospitals Radio – Life on the Farnes

Grampian Hospital Radio – The Robertson’s Family Roof Garden

Hospital Radio Basingstoke – Drummer John

Hospital Radio Plymouth – Tor Bridge High Radio Show – Carers Week

Radio Brockley – Up On The Roof

Radio Frimley Park – RFP Meets… Joy Hunter MBE

Radio Grapevine – In Conversation

Radio Marsden – Pressure Ulcer Red Spot Day

Radio Wishing Well – Rita’s Story

Best Specialist Music Programme

Grampian Hospital Radio – The 70’s Show

Hospital Radio Medway – Coolaxing

Hospital Radio Plymouth – Cabinet of Audio Curiosities

HWD Hospital Radio – The Rock Show

Radio Brockley – Bedside Broadway

Radio Clatterbridge – Country Connection

Radio Grapevine – Fresh Sounds

Radio Harrow – Richard Wyborn – Nice & Easy

Radio Redhill – Curtain Up!

Radio Tyneside – The Geordie Hour

Best Newcomer

Kira Hughes, BHBN

Jojo Sanderson, CHBN

Beth Dobson, Grampian Hospital Radio

Catherine Stables, Harrogate Hospital Radio

Emily Prince, Hospital Radio Lynn

Shannon Griffin, Hospital Radio Medway

Jamie Patey, Hospital Radio Reading

Andrew Douglas, Radio BGM

Anandi Shah, Radio Harrow

Laura Lindores, Radio Harrow

Best Programme with Multiple Presenters

Steve Dundas and Jennifer Mcloughlin – Arrowe Sound

Zara and Liam Saturday morning show – CHBN

G&T – Harrogate Hospital Radio

Sam And Tones Big 80’s Bangers – Hospital Radio Chelmsford

Dolphin Beats – Hospital Radio Medway

Saturday Brunch – Radio Harrow

Katherine and Maria’s The Young Wey – Radio Wey

Steve and Debbie The Flagship Show – Rookwood Sound

Girls Talk – Southampton Hospital Radio

SHR Kids – Southend Hospital Radio

Best Male Presenter

Ross Maxwell, Grampian Hospital Radio

Wayne Fysh, Hospital Radio Lynn

Andrew Hill, Hospital Radio Plymouth

Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospitals Radio

Howard Jacobson, Radio Glamorgan

Ross Coutts, Radio Grapevine

Shrey Puranik, Radio Harrow

George Reed, Radio Hillingdon

Steve Allen, Rookwood Sound

Joe Smith, Southend Hospital Radio

Best Female Presenter

Philippa Clarkin, BHBN

Eileen Thompson, Durham Hospitals Radio

Nikki Quayle, Durham Hospitals Radio

Ginny Irvine-Fortescue, Grampian Hospital Radio

Adele Guillen, Harrogate Hospital Radio

Carrie Ingram-Gettins, Hospital Radio Lynn

Julie Caston, Nottingham Hospitals Radio

Hansa Varsani, Radio Harrow

Karen Wilkinson, Radio Heartbeat

Lesley Jennings, Rookwood Sound

Station of the Year


Coventry Hospital Radio

Harrogate Hospital Radio

Hospital Radio Basingstoke

Hospital Radio Chelmsford

Hospital Radio Plymouth

Radio Brockley

Radio Glamorgan

Radio Redhill

Rookwood Sound

Individual Categories

There are some categories where the HBA awards a single prize and where a shortlist is not released. These categories are:

The John Witney Award

The award celebrates an outstanding contribution, by an individual, to Hospital Radio over a period of years and is open to anyone working in hospital radio. The nomination should explain why the candidate has made a real and long-lasting impact. The candidate may be drawn from the broadcasting arena but may equally be found from a technical or administrative background. They may have worked for single or multiple stations over the years.

Recognising Innovation across Hospital Radio

Designed to recognise those behind the scenes, this award celebrates pushing the boundaries, using innovative, novel or pioneering ideas. This award is open to all across the various roles hospital broadcasting organisations may have. Technical to administrative, fundraising to Trust or Board engagement – this award celebrates achieving a goal using new and inspiring techniques.