The Radio Academy announces mentoring programme cohort for 2024

The Radio Academy has revealed the list of Mentees and Mentors participating in this year’s Radio Academy Mentoring Programme.

Twenty mentees from across the industry have been selected to receive six months of mentoring from an industry leader, peer support and, new for 2024, leadership training.

The announcement follows a competitive selection process led by Chair of Judges Adele Cross, producer of BBC Radio 1Xtra Breakfast with Nadia Jae.

Furthermore, The Radio Academy and BBC have teamed up to announce the inclusion of BBC Sounds Audio Lab creators.

Creators from the BBC Sounds Audio Lab Class of 2023 will be joining the 2024 RAMP cohort to continue their audio career development.

BBC Sounds Audio Lab is an accelerator programme backed by practical and professional training, designed to amplify the next-generation of podcasters and audio creators.

24 RAMP mentees and mentors have been announced to participate in the industry development programme which starts at the end of February, with an induction event taking place in London.

RAMP is supported by Broadcast Bionics and is aimed at anyone working in any area of radio and audio, who has at least five years professional experience.

Introducing the 2024 Radio Academy Mentoring Programme cohort:

  • Soila Apparicio – Podcast Producer, Sky News
  • Jessica Beck – Producer, The Audio Long Read podcast at The Guardian
  • Rozeena Bernard – Assistant Producer, BBC Radio 2
  • Jess Bracey – Presenter and Producer, BFBS The Forces Station
  • Claire Crofton – Independent audio documentary maker
  • Lisa Hack – Producer and Senior Technical Tutor, Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Kriss Herbert – Network Content Director, Gaydio
  • John Isherwood – Producer, Bald Builders Breakfast on Fix Radio
  • Faith Lawrence – Radio Producer, BBC
  • Anouska Lewis – Podcast Creator, BBC Sounds Audio Lab
  • Seun Matiluko – Podcast Creator, BBC Sounds Audio Lab
  • Rebecca Maxted – Producer, BBC Audio North
  • Laura Naylor – Head of Digital Content, Bauer Media
  • James Norman-Fyfe – Executive Producer, We Are Grape
  • John Offord – Freelance Producer, media trainer and journalist
  • Naomi Oiku – Freelance Producer, podcasting, commercial and specialist radio
  • Anna Owen – Producer, BBC, on secondment to the prison service as Head of Radio and Music in Prisons
  • Adélie Pojzman-Pontay – Podcast Producer, The Telegraph
  • Kellie Redmond – Radio and Podcasts Executive Producer, Listen
  • May Robson – Podcast Creator, BBC Sounds Audio Lab
  • Taqwa Sadiq – Podcast Creator, BBC Sounds Audio Lab
  • Rob Tobin – Executive Producer, KISS Breakfast
  • Sarah Wade – Producer, BBC Radio 4 Extra
  • Heather Wall – Producer, Jazz FM

The 2024 mentors are:

  • Gloria Abramoff, Managing Director, Creators Inc
  • Innes Bowen, Executive Producer, BBC Factual Podcast Unit
  • Chris Burns, Head of Audio and Digital, BBC England
  • Laura Busson, Commissioning Executive, BBC Radio 2
  • Camilla Byk, Co-Founder,
  • Mike Cass, Content Director, Virgin Radio
  • Victoria Easton-Riley, Content Director for Bauer Scotland
  • Dylan Haskins, Commissioning Editor, Podcasts for BBC Sounds & BBC Radio 5 Live
  • Beena Khetani, Talent Executive, BBC Studios – Factual
  • Emma Jane Kirby, Producer, Blanchard House
  • Rachel Mallender, Content Director, Bauer Media Audio UK
  • Sheena Mason, Deputy Content Director, Magic Radio
  • Phil Maynard, Executive Producer, Today in Focus
  • Jo Meek, Head of Factual and Development, Audio Always
  • Mike Newman, Vice President, UK Content and Production, Audioboom
  • Ray Paul, Creative Director, The Playmaker Group
  • Tony Phillips, Freelance Podcast Executive and Consultant
  • David Prest, Managing Director, Whistledown Productions
  • Chris Skinner, Vice President and Head of Content, Sony Music
  • Andrew Spence, Director of Operations, We Are Unedited
  • Dixi Stewart, Managing Director, SandStone Global Productions
  • Steve Taylor, Creative Commercial Director, Bauer
  • Helen Thomas, Head of BBC Radio 2
  • Adam Uytman, Director of Client Relations and Business Development, ReelWorld

Aradhna Tayal Leach, Managing Director of The Radio Academy said: “Mentoring comes for most professionals at a critical point in their career journey – often at a time when they feel stuck on how to advance to the next level.

Mentoring and guided support can quite often open up different paths and even more importantly, build the confidence to take the next step. There is a wealth of talent in this year’s cohort and we wish them every success, and our full support, in the programme.”

Announcing the inclusion of mentees from BBC Sounds Audio Lab, Khaliq Meer, Commissioning Executive from BBC Sounds Audio Lab said: “We are thrilled to join up the Radio Academy on this hugely beneficial mentoring programme that helps to grow the next wave of audio leaders in our industry. BBC Sounds is passionate about helping the podcasters and audio creative access the best support and resources, achieve next-level ambition and RAMP fits perfectly with that objective. We look forward to working together in the year ahead.”

Dan McQuillin, Managing Director at Broadcast Bionics, sponsor of RAMP, said: “The products and tools we develop at Broadcast Bionics help broadcasters around the world connect with their audiences every day. But no matter how far technology advances, there will always be an innate human desire for connection. This is precisely what awaits the 2024 cohort of RAMP. I encourage each person to embrace this opportunity to connect and learn from their mentors and peers through this one-of-a-kind mentoring journey.”

The full list of mentees and mentors, along with biographies, is available here.