All the winners from the Commercial Radio News Awards 2024

The late Russell Hargreaves has been recognised for his outstanding contribution to news and sport at the Commercial Radio News Awards.

Russell, who was 45 when he died last year, was named as the recipient of the Gold Award which was presented to his wife Rachel by the England and Harlequins Rugby Union International Danny Care.

Russell was a prominent sports reporter, presenter, and commentator across the network for several years. He worked for Sports Media, Sky News Radio/IRN and talkSPORT during a distinguished career in which he specialised in rugby union, golf and football.

The presentation was the culmination of the event hosted by Sky News Presenter, Niall Paterson, at Sky’s west London HQ, in association with IRN and Sky News.

Bauer Media Audio’s West Yorkshire News Team was named ‘News Team of the Year’ in the ‘over 1.5m TSA’ category with judges admiring a ‘small team who were happy to leave the newsroom, make difficult issues accessible and create some lively and exciting audio.’

The ‘News Team of the Year’ in the ‘under 1.5m TSA’ category was Bauer’s North Yorkshire News Team. The judges cited ‘a creative, innovative team who aren’t afraid to do things differently, who ask challenging questions and who investigate the stories that matter to their audience.’

Charlotte Lynch from LBC and LBC News won the National Reporter of the Year for her ‘excellent ability to handle both breaking news and original storytelling.’ The judges highlighted her ‘powerful and considered’ reporting on domestic abuse.

The Regional Reporter of the Year prize was awarded to Alan Zycinski from Global’s Newsroom Scotland. He was praised for his ‘exceptional ability to report both significant news events on patch and create exclusive journalism’ in what was a highly competitive category.

Clyde 1’s coverage of the managerial change at Celtic FC last year was rewarded with the ‘Best Sports Coverage’ award. The judges said the team was ‘right on top of the story’ of Ange Postecoglou’s departure and the return of Brendan Rodgers to Glasgow, demonstrating a good range of journalism.’

Bauer’s North West News Team won the ‘Best News Special or Campaign’ award for its ‘Face the Family’ entry which was launched in response to the refusal of Olivia Pratt-Korbel’s killer to face her family at his sentencing. The judges said it was ‘an outstanding example of a radio team reacting to reflect the views of its listeners and making a difference.’ The campaign succeeded in gaining the support of the Prime Minister and being included in the King’s Speech.

Global’s Newsroom North West received the ‘Best News Story or Coverage’ for the second year in succession for its reporting on the murder of Brianna Ghey. It was a ‘strong example of storytelling’ according to the judges, ‘taking you to the scene with use of natural sound, interviews and explaining complex legal issues with first-rate court reporting.’

Aileen O’Sullivan was named ‘National Newsreader of the Year.’ The Kiss and Greatest Hits Radio broadcaster ‘displays real craft in her bulletins with great scripting, creative use of audio and story selection to suit the target audience’ according to the judges.

The ‘Regional Newsreader of the Year’ was Micky Welch from Metro Radio who was described as ‘a breath of fresh air, with a unique style oozing personality with his memorable and passionate approach to newsreading and storytelling.’

Emma Kirwan from Global’s Newsroom East was awarded the ‘Best Interview’ prize for ‘The Knock’ which looked in to the trauma faced by families when a loved one is arrested and convicted of sexual offences against children. The judges described it as ‘an outstanding piece of journalism’ in which the reporter ‘had worked hard to gain the trust of the interviewee.’

The ‘Newcomer of the Year’ award was presented to Olivia Célina Davies from Bauer’s North West News Team. ‘Olivia’s reporting drips with atmosphere, enthusiasm and personality’ according to the judges who praised her ‘immersive reporting.’

And the ‘Student Journalist of the Year’ award, which is supported by the Broadcast Journalism Training Council, was won by Vanessa Igoe from City, University of London. The judges said her audio documentary about LGBTQ+ students in boarding school was ‘original and well-constructed’ and ‘explored uncomfortable themes with excellent case studies and a solid narrative flow.’

The winners list in full:


IRN Gold Award
Russell Hargreaves

News Team of the Year (Over 1.5m TSA)
West Yorkshire News Team – Bauer Media Audio

News Team of the Year (Under 1.5m TSA)
North Yorkshire News Team – Bauer Media Audio

Best News Story or Coverage
The Murder of Brianna Ghey – Global’s Newsroom North West

Reporter of the Year (National)
Charlotte Lynch – LBC & LBC News 

Reporter of the Year (Regional)
Alan Zycinski – Global’s Newsroom Scotland

Best Sports Coverage
Ange Out, Brendan In: Celtic’s Rollercoaster Summer – Clyde 1

Best News Special or Campaign
Face the Family – North West News Team, Bauer Media Audio

Best Interview
The Knock – Emma Kirwan, Global’s Newsroom East 

Newsreader of the Year (National)
Aileen O’Sullivan – Bauer Media Audio

Newsreader of the Year (Regional)
Micky Welch – Metro Radio, Bauer Media Audio

Newcomer of the Year
Olivia Célina Davies – North West News Team, Bauer Media Audio

Student Journalist of the Year – Supported by the BJTC
Vanessa Igoe – City, University of London


IRN Editor and Head of Radio at Sky News, Dave Terris said: “The quality of journalism, presentation and production really shines through as commercial radio news teams continue to serve their listeners with trusted, impartial coverage. What stood out this year was the ambition to confront difficult subjects with clarity, skill, and sensitivity to shed light on what is happening and why. Russell Hargreaves had all the above qualities and more, a man whose knowledge and enthusiasm always came through in his reporting and his contribution to our industry has been rightly celebrated with the Gold Award.”

IRN Managing Director, Tim Molloy said: “Congratulations to the winners and runners up. This year has again showcased what high standards exist amongst our best commercial radio newsrooms and how many talented individuals there are, bringing original stories to their audiences and making an impact. Listening to the entries it is clear why radio news bulletins are trusted and relied upon by so many around the UK.”