Winners announced at Irish radio awards event

Five radio stations in Northern Ireland picked up awards at the All-Ireland radio awards, the IMROs, last Friday.

BBC Radio Ulster, BBC Radio Foyle, Q Radio and Cool FM/Downtown were recognised in various categories.

Broadcaster Stephen Nolan won Best Interactive Speech Programme whilst John Toal got the Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year award.

Q Radio’s Connor Brennan won Gold for Newcomer of the Year whilst Cool FM/Downtown Radio’s Sarah McKinley won Silver.

For the full list, see our news on RadioToday Ireland, where you’ll see the big winners of the night were Newstalk (Station of the Year), Cork’s Red FM (Music Station of the Year) and WLR in Waterford (Local Station of the Year).

Here’s what the UK stations won:

Q Radio

Gold: The Gay Byrne Newcomer of the Year award for Connor Brennan

Cool FM / Downtown Radio

Silver: The Gay Byrne Newcomer of the Year award for Sarah McKinley

BBC Radio Ulster

Gold: Irish Music Programme or Initiative category for ATL Introducing

Gold: Stephen Nolan was awarded Best Interactive Speech Programme

Gold: John Toal – Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year

Silver: Music Special for the Sailortown Sessions

Silver: News Story – Unprecedented Times

Silver: Current Affairs Programme (Local/Regional) – Good Morning Ulster

Silver: Music, Arts, Culture Doc – The Arts Show

Silver: Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year – Stephen McCauley

Silver: National Station of the Year

Bronze: On-Air Competition – Two Minute Tales

BBC Radio Foyle:

Gold: Best Breakfast Show for Local/Regional News Programme

Silver: Sports Broadcaster of the Year – Nathan Murphy

Bronze: Radio Moment of the Year – So Long, Farewell

Bronze: News Broadcaster of the Year – Elaine McGee