All the winners from the Student Radio Awards 2019

Here are the winners of the Student Radio Awards 2019 supported by BBC Radio 1 and Global, as announced at indigo at the O2 in London on Thursday.

Best Event or Outside Broadcast supported by Capital’s Jingle Bell Ball

Gold: Notts Varsity 2019 – URN

Silver: Welsh Varsity 2019 – Xpress Radio

Bronze: 24 Hour Broadcast In Aid Of Movember – Smoke Radio

Best Student Radio Chart Show supported by BBC Radio 1

Gold: URY

Silver: Fly FM

Bronze: Leeds Student Radio

Best Technical Achievement supported by BBC Design and Engineering

Gold: Digiplay – RAW 1251AM

Silver: Building homebrew studio infrastructure, cutting the costs of GPIO hardware – URY

Bronze: Fly FM On Demand – Fly FM

Best Podcast supported BBC Sounds

Gold: Getting in the ring is the winning bit – Shock Radio

Silver: Feminottingham – URN

Bronze: The Passion Fruit Podcast – Smoke Radio

Best Interview supported by BBC Radio 6 Music

Gold: Gyal from Brum Interviews Cadet – Smoke Radio

Silver: Gyal from Brum Interviews Deno – Smoke Radio

Bronze: Jordan Edwards Interviews Ben Howlett – University Radio Bath

Best Multi-Platform Initiative supported by Global Player

Gold: Grace and Matt – URN

Silver: Nottingham Varsity 2019 – URN

Bronze: LSR Breakfast – Leeds Student Radio

Best Journalistic Programming supported by BBC Newsbeat

Gold: Housing Crisis Investigation – Purple Radio

Silver: Contracting To Cheat – The Cat Radio

Bronze: The Pulse – URN

Best Specialist Music Programming supported by PPL/PRS

Gold: Gyal From Brum – Smoke Radio

Silver: Desi Beats with Priya Matharu – Shock Radio

Bronze: UpNEXT – Shock Radio

Best Speech Programming supported by BBC Radio 4

Gold: Stuart Russell – individual membership

Silver: Love, Art & Radio Resistance – OMG

Bronze: Unwritten Letters – Spark Sunderland

Best Sports Programming

Gold: Cerys Beth O’Boyle Tribute – Forge Radio

Silver: Sportsfeed – Purple Radio

Bronze: The Thursday Sports Show – URN

Best Entertainment Programme supported by BBC Radio 2

Gold: Thursday Breakfast with Gabriel and Joe – Smoke Radio

Silver: The Joel Mitchell Show – URY

Bronze: The Cal & Ben Show – Nerve Radio

Best Station Branding supported by Capital

Gold: URN

Silver: XpressionFM

Bronze: Shock Radio

The ReelWorld Best Station Sound Award

Gold: Smoke Radio

Silver: URN

Bronze: Demon FM

Best Newcomer supported by Union JACK Radio

Gold: Joseph Morrall – URY

Silver: Elliot Morris – Surge Radio

Bronze: Will Hall – RAW 1251AM

Best Male supported by Global

Gold: Sam Macgregor – Xpress Radio

Silver: Tom Glenwright – Spark Sunderland

Bronze: Lewis Bowden – Spark Sunderland

Best Female supported by Global

Gold: Hannah Sackville-Bryant – URY

Silver: Emma Snow – Fly FM

Bronze: Zofia Hare – Fly FM

Best Student Radio Station supported by BBC Radio 1

Gold: Smoke Radio

Silver: URN

Bronze: Leeds Student Radio

The Kevin Greening Award for Creativity supported by North Media Talent

Gold: Christopher Steers with “Love Art & Radio Resistance” for his entry for Best Speech Programming

Silver: Beth Hemmings with “Beth Hemmings’ Investigates social media’s impact on mental health” for her entry for Best Journalistic Programming

Bronze: Emma Millen with “The Beach Boy” for her entry for Best Speech Programming